"Manage" option is accesible from the Advanced settings of the AVG program -> Update branch. It includes the following options for AVG update administration:
- Delete temporary update files
When this button is pressed, all temporary update files (.bin) on your computer are deleted as well as the update control files (.ctf). This helps when the update control files are corrupted or when it is not possible to update the AVG program. Temporary update files are stored by default in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\avg8\update\download. After pressing of the Delete temporary update files button and confirming the deletion of the files, all files in this folder should be deleted.
- Revert virus database to previous version
This button provides you with the option to return to the previous virus database. You can use this function in case that there is a false positive and it is needed to continue in using the detected file with AVG Free protection enabled. After pressing this button and confirming that you want to return to the previous version, AVG Free reverts back to the state before the last virus database update, so that a new false positive is not detected. When there is new virus database update published (and a false positive fixed) you can update directly to a new version without this false positive.